My Mentor/ Mi Mentora

My mentor Pilar Pedraza, is a Peruvian photographer, very talented and dedicated to everything she does. Parallel to my classes with her, I started volunteering at the social work she and Morfi Jimenez (photographer) created in a shantytown called Villa Maria del Triunfo. “Verte Mirarte” is a space where they teach children different techniques in photography and give them the time to go out of their routines and into a space where they could explore their own creativity. Through the years they have taught children that creativity requires no money, only passion and self improvement.

At the end of each year, Pilar and Morfi organize an exposition where the kids do not sell, but exchange their photogram. Today, Gorgito (one of the kids) says; “Photography gave me my teeth”. The person who bought his photogram was a dentist, so in exchange for his photogram, she fixed his teeth. These children have learnt that a paper bill cannot match the value of their work, their effort and their commitment. Here, I was as much a volunteer as I was a student. These kids taught me what were and how to do photograms, aqua-grams, and pinhole photographs. Pilar combined two of my major passions in life, photography and social work. Between “Verte Mirarte” and my lessons with Pilar, I understood the meaning of the word mentor; someone who guides your personal and professional growth.

She lent me her tripods, her books, her studio, and above all, her time. She pushed me to find what I was passionate about helped me to make it happen. I got to see first-hand how she worked in photo shoots, where I learned more every time. Once, she had to photograph a factory and its employees, but before she did she just chatted with each employee, trying to know them a little. Talking to them is a way of asking them permission to capture their everyday life. Alfred Eisenstaedt said; “It is more important to click with the people than the camera”. That is why photographers might tell you that the first picture in a photoshoot is the hardest. Because the environment might be tense or nervous, so talking with the people you are photographing creates a comfortable space where both, the photographer and the person, work and create together.  

Pilar taught me that photography is a very personal matter of expression, each person is a world with his/her own likes, styles and interests, so not everyone has to or will like my pictures. The important thing is that even if people do not like your art, you must remain true to yourself. Your work does not have to be praised by everyone, it is meant to cause emotions, whether it is anger or happiness, the goal is to provoke something in people.

Pilar shared with me how she started her career when she was my age with her mentor and this year she became mine. I could not have asked for someone more true to herself and her principles than Pilar. I thank her for this amazing year.

_______________________________________________________________________

Mi mentora Pilar Pedraza es una fotógrafa peruana muy talentosa y dedicada a todo lo que hace. Paralelo a mis clases con ella, me volví voluntaria de la obra social que ella y Morfi Jiménez (fotógrafo) crearon en un asentamiento humano de pobreza extrema, Villa María del Triunfo. Verte Mirarte es un espacio donde les enseñan a los niños diferentes técnicas de fotografía y les dan la oportunidad de salir de sus rutinas y entrar a un espacio donde pueden explorar su creatividad. Durante los años les han enseñado a los niños que la creatividad no requiere de dinero, sino de pasión y dedicación.

Al final de cada año, Pilar y Morfi organizan una exposición donde los chicos no venden sino intercambian su fotograma. Hoy, Jorgito (uno de los chicos) dice; “La fotografía me dio mis dientes”. La persona que compró su fotograma fue una dentista, así que a cambio de su fotografía le arregló sus dientes. Estos chicos han aprendido que un billete no se compara al valor de su trabajo, su esfuerzo y su compromiso. Aquí, fui tan voluntaria como estudiante. Estos chicos me enseñaron qué eran los fotogramas, los qumi-gramas, los acua-gramas, la fotografía pinhole.y cómo hacer estos. Pilar combinó dos de mis mayores pasiones, fotografía y obra social. Entre Verte Mirarte y mis clases con Pilar, entendí el significado de la palabra mentora; alguien que guía el crecimiento personal y profesional de uno.

Ella me prestó sus trípodes, sus libros, su estudio y sobre todo su tiempo. Ella me llevó a encontrar lo que me apasiona y me ayudó a volverlo una realidad. Pude ver en primera instancia cómo trabajaba en una sesión de fotos, donde aprendí más. Una vez, tuvo que hacer unas fotografías de una fábrica y sus trabajadores, pero antes que tomara las fotos conversó con cada trabajador, tratando de conocer un poco más de cada uno. Hablar con ellos es una manera de pedirles permiso de capturar lo que hacen día a día. Alfred Eisenstaedt dijo; “Es más importante hacer clic con la gente que con la cámara”. Por esa misma razón,  es que algunos fotógrafos dicen que la primera foto de una sesión es al más difícil. El ambiente puede estar tenso o nervioso, y hablar con la/s persona/s  que estás fotografiando crea un ambiente cómodo donde ambos, el fotógrafo y la persona pueden trabajar y crear juntos.

Pilar me enseñó que la fotografía es una manera de expresarse muy personal, cada persona es un mundo con sus propios/as gustos, estilos e intereses, así que no a todos les tiene que gustar o les van a gustar mis fotografías. Lo importante es que a pesar que la gente no le guste tu arte, te seas fiel a ti mismo. Tu trabajo no tiene que ser aplaudido por todos, es para causar emociones, ya sea enojo o alegría, la meta es provocar algo en las personas.

Pilar compartió conmigo como empezó su carrera como fotógrafa cuando tenía mi edad con un mentor y este año se volvió la mía. No pude haber aprendido de alguien que es más leal a sí misma y a sus principios como Pilar. Le agradezco por este increíble año.

Leave a Reply

