My relationship with photography/ Mi relación con la fotografía

Theories and mechanisms are tedious no matter what you are learning. But, what turns tediousness into enjoyment is putting these into practice; and what turns practice into your life is the passion, the dedication and the love you develop in the process.

We live in a world where there are determined patterns telling us how to dress, how to think, even how to believe in religion… basically, how we should or should not be; and who ever dares to go outside societies box is judged. Photography allowed me to leave the sandbox. I created freely; I choose what to capture and I made my own space where no judgements were allowed, one where I was comfortable in. What I took pictures of and what I was feeling was reflected in what I captured. Sometimes it was not intentional but my conscience managed to be present in my work. With time behind a camera I got to pursue personal interests, develop personal techniques and express personal opinions. These experiences spoke to me a little more about myself.

The connection you build with yourself can be extended by connecting with other people. Photography itself is an art understood around the world. I hope my passion takes me across borders and within cultures, from which I can take a piece of each with me. I want to tell the stories of those who are marginalized and forgotten. My work as a volunteer in Peruvian shantytowns pushed me to give a voice to forgotten realities. I want to talk with people, understand what they have to live every day and show the face behind the face in a frozen frame in time to the world. I want my pictures to be eye-openers to anyone who is unaware of the lives of others; from shantytowns and a boy asking for money on the streets, to war; everyone has a story to tell and capturing them in a frame is capturing a little of their voice. I want my pictures to move people, enough for them to worry about others and want to help. I believe photography involves infinite emotions and limitless power, enough to erase indifference in at least one person, enough for people to consider what a person who cannot read this in the twenty-first century might be doing and enough for people to be aware of realities different form their own. I want my photography to be provocative and spark something in people.

Some will like my work, others will not but the important thing is not to agree with their likes and styles but to accept the differences. After all, the goal is not for everyone to like it but to make an impact.

_______________________________________________________________________

No importa que estés aprendiendo, las teorías y mecanismos son tediosos. Pero lo que convierte lo tedioso en un placer, es poner estos en práctica, y lo que convierte la práctica en tu vida es la pasión, la dedicación y el amor que desarrollas en el proceso.

Vivimos en un mundo donde hay determinados patrones dictándonos cómo vestirnos, cómo pensar, incluso como creer en la religión… básicamente como debemos ser o no ser; y quien se atreva a salir de la caja que es la sociedad es juzgado. La fotografía me permitió dejar la caja de arena. Cree libremente, escogí que capturar e hice mi propio espacio donde los prejuicios no son permitidos, un espacio donde estuviera cómoda. Lo que fotografiaba y como me sentía se reflejaba en lo que capturaba. A veces no era intencional pero mi subconsciente se manifestaba en mi trabajo. Con tiempo detrás de la cámara pude seguir intereses personales, desarrollar técnicas personales y expresar opiniones personales. Estas experiencias me hablaban un poco más sobre mi misma.

La conexión que construyes contigo misma se extiende conectándose con otras personas. La fotografía misma es un arte entendido alrededor del mundo. Espero que mi pasión me lleve entre fronteras y dentro de culturas, de las cuales pueda llevarme algo de cada una conmigo. Mi trabajo como voluntaria en poblaciones peruanas de extrema pobreza me ha llevado a querer exponer realidades olvidadas. Quiero contar historias de aquellos marginados y olvidados. Quiero hablar con personas, entender lo que tienen que vivir día a día y enseñar al mundo el alma que se esconde detrás de la cara en una fotografía. Quiero que mis fotos abran los ojos a quien sea que no esté al tanto de la vida de otros; desde asentamientos humanos o un niño pidiendo plata en las calles, hasta las guerras, todos tienen una historia que contar y capturarlos en un marco es capturar un poco de sus voces. Quiero que mis fotografías muevan personas, lo suficiente para que se preocupen por otros y quieran ayudar a otros. Creo que la fotografía involucra infinitas emociones y poder ilimitado, lo suficiente para borrar la indiferencia por lo menos en una persona, lo suficiente para preguntarse qué está haciendo una persona que no puede leer esto en el siglo veintiuno y lo suficiente para que las personas estén al tanto de realidades diferentes a las propias. Quiero que mi fotografía sea provocativa y que cause algo en las personas

Algunos les gustara mi trabajo, a otros no, pero lo importante no es estar de acuerdo en todos los gustos y disgustos sino aceptar las diferencias. Después de todo, la meta no que a todos les gusten sino causar un impacto.

Leave a Reply

